Food for thought~my top 10 “life-isms”

 Some say I’m too sensitive, truth is I just feel too much.  Every word, action and energy goes straight to my heart.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I am an open book.  Let me rephrase that… People don’t always know the intricate details of what’s going on in my mind, but I do wear my heart on my sleeve and don’t hide it very well when things are bothering me. I’m very intuitive and  I feel things very strongly. I usually know things that are going on with people sometimes before even they do. Like the quote says, every word whether it is spoken or not go straight to my heart… Every action whether it’s taken or not go straight to my heart… And every energy whether it be good or bad go straight to my heart.

There isn’t enough room in your mind for both worry and faith. You must decide which one will live there.

Here is my double edged sword…I have tremendous faith… Alongside of that, I am probably the biggest worrier you have ever met. I can sit and analyze things in my mind to the point that I make myself sick. I come up with every possible scenario that could happen, (usually the worst case scenario).  That being said, every day we have a choice… A choice to let Faith live in our mind or a choice to let worry dwell there. I’m not saying that I always make the right decision, I am just saying it all comes down to a personal choice.

Be selective in your battles, for sometimes peace is better than being right.

Man, I have told my kids this their entire lives, but first I told myself.  My kids would fight when they were younger over which one was right, who did this or who did that. It really comes back to not sweating the small stuff. I would tell my kids as they were fighting with each other, “Sometimes when YOU know the truth, that’s all that matters, let things roll off your back.” I mean, does it REALLY matter…some of these small things? Things like me coming up with an idea, my kids thinking there’s no way on earth they would ever consider it,  but then a few months down the road they get this BRILLIANT idea… (Which was MY idea, by the way) it’s then, that I just have to sit back and say “GREAT IDEA!!” And leave it at that… Peace…

The worst part about being strong is that no one ever asks if YOU’RE okay.

This one is pretty self explanatory, but I will be the first to admit, even if someone DOES ask me if I’m okay, I always tell them I am… I’m always “fine”…. (The other bad f-word) when a woman is fine, she is NEVER fine. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being strong for everyone else, it just becomes harder when it’s for you.

* What if you woke up today with only the things that you thanked God for yesterday?

This is pretty powerful. Think about it and let it sink in. So many times we go about our day solely for us. We go through the routine of things, and seldom take time to appreciate everything that’s before us. I’m talking the things that are REALLY important. Things like your family, friends, food to eat, a roof over your head, a job… Heck… Just the fact that you even woke up. NOT material things…. Important things. Imagine waking up in the morning, and it was only you. No family, nothing. UFF da…

Until God opens a new door for you, praise Him in the hallway.

We spent many, many years waiting for opportunities to come our way. Wondering silently to ourselves, when our ship would come in. God has to have a bigger plan we would tell ourselves. He certainly doesn’t want us living in the situations we are being so unhappy. Little did we know, we were being molded and prepared for something great. Along the way we were taught patience, trust and learned a lot about ourselves and how we deal with things. My husband and I both, learned a lot about forgiveness and bitterness. It seems that once we had a firm grasp on those things and how they affected us , our lives took a dramatic change .Our ship came in about a year and a half ago when all of our waiting finally paid off.  We were blessed with a new job, change of scenery, a beautiful home to live in and great employers.

Don’t feel bad if people only remember you when they need you… Feel privileged that you are a candle that comes to their mind when there is darkness.

Simply put, always be a blessing.  Don’t worry about the “poor me syndrome”. Life is about helping others, putting others first. I’m a firm believer that what you put out always comes back to you, and you should consider it a great privilege when somebody trusts you enough with their most important issues. They are coming to you for a reason, don’t let them down.

Don’t be like the rest of them darling…

I Am so very thankful that my kids are individuals… Strong individuals. Kids that may bicker and argue, but when crap hits the fan they are the first ones there for each other. I guess we all have a little bit of the “world” in us, but I take pride in the fact that we do have a very close family. I’m thankful for the characteristics in my children that enable them to be different. To be their own individuals, without a care of what anybody else thinks.  ~~~~that being said….~~~~

I am about to show you what happens when you screw with one of my kids… Brace yourself, this is going to hurt.

Self explanatory right? Any mom out there knows… This is just a given.

Lord help me to remember that there’s nothing that can happen today, that you and I can’t handle together.

Even after all the issues I’ve just discussed here, it all comes down to faith…have a little faith that there is a greater plan than you or I can even comprehend,  and trust that it will come to pass. Be strong enough to handle the big things, but never sweat the small stuff!

✌🏻  

One thought on “Food for thought~my top 10 “life-isms”

  1. Great list! That’s wonderful that you’ve been blessed recently with things you’ve been waiting for. Patience is a hard thing… but how sweet it is when good things happen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

